Life Change and Rearrange (healthy cooking)

To say this has been a stressful year (October 2012-October 2013) would be an understatement. To keep privacy private, trust me you’d agree. On the lighter side of the stress, school was crazinesss, work (was) hella draining, and the stuff I used to love doing, fell to the wayside: like cooking, up-keeping the house, and all other stereotypical lady things. Due to the stress and seasonal blues my vices have taken over: eating icky, lahziness, and shopping. Let’s just say, I’m none too pleased with my appearance or my overall mood.

I have decided it’s time for a life change. Hubstats and I signed up for a gym, I’ve started walking the dogs as much as I used to, and cooking is happening again. Healthy cooking. Specifically I found one blog, Amee’s Savory Dish. I’ve only made a few of the recipes, but so far they’re all good (and it’s a pretty good blog to top it off).

EVEN MORE SPECIFICALLY THESE:

I made this last night, so so so delicious. Sweet and Spicy Crockpot Chicken. The recipe says use Medium or Hot Salsa, use hot.

Sweet and Spicy Crockpot Chicken from Amee's Savory Dish delicious healthy recipes on surroundedbypretty.com

So I know beef isn’t known for being healthy, but it was on this site, and it was really stinkin good. Crockpot Southwest Beef Roast, just eat it sparingly.

Crockpot Southwest Roast Beef from Amee's Savory Dish delicious healthy recipes on surroundedbypretty.com

Other yummy healthy recipes:

Zucchini tots. My mom used to save the left over bread crumbs and egg mixture from chicken cutlets and make what I used to call “breads”, not the healthiest, but these taste JUST LIKE IT!
Zucchini tots delicious healthy recipes on surroundedbypretty.com

Spicy Kale and Corn Stuffed Chicken Breast, omgoodness, so goo. Making this tomorrow.

Spicy kale and corn stuffed chicken breast delicious healthy recipes on surroundedbypretty.com

Ribbony Shrimp and Pasta Scampi, more of a summery meal, but it’s still delicious. I also took the plunge and tried whole wheat pasta, and it held it’s own. I’ve made this a few times (add some red pepper flakes, I love me some spicy).

Shrimp, wheat pasta, squash and zucchini delicious healthy recipes on surroundedbypretty.com

Ok, now I need your help. Does anyone have any good healthy eating/cooking blogs? Any snacks or ANYTHING? Let me know (sound off in the comments). For realsies people, I need to do this, and I love food too much to have a protein shake for dinner (but if you have a good protein shake recipe I could get down with that).

xoxo Stephanie

One thought on “Life Change and Rearrange (healthy cooking)

Leave a Reply

