On a DIY Roll: Pop of Color

I am taking DIYs by storm. All this talk about not being a DIYer is proving me to be a liar. This one also involves spray paint, it’s kind of my thing. I went into blogging dreaming of J.Crew and Elle Decor to be knock on my door, but in all actuality if anyone was to scoop me up and give me money and swag it’s going to be Rustoleum spray paint. 

We had this sad empty wall in our entryway see…..

IMG_4462

I wanted it to be zhushed up, but I wanted it to be something customized, ours, MY taste. I’m not a huge mass produced print fan, if I see something unique, I’ll take the plunge, but I’d rather do something myself or wait around for something to pop out at me. I waited…… for 2 years…. and I found an awesome, vintagey poster in Maine (it was $5). I don’t live in a frat house or a 16 year old girl’s bedroom so I wanted to frame it. I wanted to orange frame it.

I bought this guy, it was around $40 PLUS 40% off (score). Then I bought myself some orange spray paint ($3.87).

I’m going to be honest, this didn’t go as seamlessly as previous DIYs. My impatience really came through. It was a windy day and the bugs were attracted to the bright color (maybe shouldn’t have done it around dusk – – – I was literally picking out bugs). Also, the spray paint didn’t adhere to this surface as it did the others so there’s some textual issues (drips, ripples from the wind), and the glass broke….. twice. No really, but Michaels is awesome and replaced it. All and all it looks….. well take a look yourself

An orange frame DIY packs a punch with a pop of color on surroundedbypretty.com

FREAKIN’ AWESOME!!!!!!!!! I love it, it adds a real punch to what used to be a sad gray hallway.

An orange frame DIY packs a punch with a pop of color on surroundedbypretty.com

You likey?

xoxo Stephanie

7 thoughts on “On a DIY Roll: Pop of Color

  1. Pingback: It’s Beeeeginning to look A-lot like AU-tumn | Surrounded By Pretty

Leave a Reply

