YUMMMMOOOOOHHHH Chili-Crusted Chicken Noodles

I’ve never posted anything about cooking or baking, I do it frequently. In fact, I cook dinner every night (other than fridays and saturdays). I love to cook, I love to bake, but I don’t post recipes because 1) They’re not mine and I feel awkward and 2) My photography is laughable and would probably cause you to NOT cook what I’m suggesting.

Anyways, I’m posting this recipe because of something kinda awesome that happened and I want to be able to link back to this :)

I got this particular recipe (including many other weekday favorites around these parts) from Stir Fry: Tasty Recipes for Every Day. I bought this for $8 at Barnes and Noble and it’s the best $8 we ever spent. I’ve tried dozens of stir fry recipes from here and they are all deeeeelish and stir-fry recipes allow you to play around and put in different veggies (aka whatever is currently available). Some of the ingredients cause a scavenger hunt, but the outcome is always worth it. Plus the meals take like 30 mins MAX. This one is our absolute fav though…..

Chili-Crusted Chicken Noodles
Image

Prep time: 25 mins
Total cooking time: 20 mins
Serves: 4-6

1 1/2 teaspoons of chili powder**
3 tablespoons cornflower (corn starch)**
1 1/2 teaspoons of salt**
**I actually double these
2 tablespoons of oil
350 g chicken thighs sliced – I use 1 lb of thin chicken breast sliced
4 spring onions sliced – I use a bunch, which is usually 6
1 carrot sliced
1 celery stick sliced – I hate cooked celery and refuse to taint this meal with this
2 tablespoons of mirin or sherry (I highly suggest mirin)
500 g (1 lb) Hokkien noodles gently pulled apart
2 tablespoons of oyster sauce
250 g (8 oz) baby bok choy, washed and trimmed – I’ve never used this

  1. Combine the chili powder, corn starch, and salt an mix well. Heat the oil in a wok over high heat. Coat the chicken strips in the corn starch mix and stir-fry in batches for 3 minutes each batch, or until golden. Drain on paper towels and remove all the chicken from the wok.
  2. Reheat the wok over medium heat. Add the spring onion, carrot and celery (or whatever veggies you choose) and stir-fry for 1 minute. Add the mirin and the noodles, tossing well until the veggies have softened.
  3. Add the oyster sauce and 2 tablespoons water; cover and steam for 2-4 minutes, or until noodles are tender (the noodles I purchase are already tender, so don’t let it steam for too long or it turns to mush)
  4. Add the chicken and bok choy and toss well. Cover and steam for 30 seconds only. Serve immediately.

 

Ok, so this is seriously yum. Seriously easy. A great weeknight meal. Stay tuned for something super fun tomorrow.

xoxo Stephanie

“Like” Surrounded by Pretty on Facebook

Follow surrounded_by_pretty on Instagram

Follow @SBPrettyBlog on Twitter

Follow Surrounded by Pretty on Bloglovin’

6 thoughts on “YUMMMMOOOOOHHHH Chili-Crusted Chicken Noodles

  1. Pingback: LIEBSTER? I barely even know her!!!! | Surrounded By Pretty

Leave a Reply

