Reupholstering: Stray Thoughts, Expert Advice, and Pretty Pictures

I got this gem of a message the other day:

Image

Oddly enough, one day earlier I was exploring a fabric store and was telling my shopping-mate that I dream of finding a really cool old piece of furniture and having it reupholstered. Now, I do not claim to know one SINGLE thing about reupholstering but I do know that all of the bloggers I obsess over do, so I had a super important link saved for when I found/was able to reupholster a piece of my very own:

Emily Henderson: Everything you need to know about reupholstering vintage pieces

Here, Emily Henderson, reupholsterer extraordinaire, discusses shape, patterns, fabrics, and potential costs. (It’s a quick, easy read). While this doesn’t really get into the nitty-gritty, it definitely gives a comprehensive overview of a topic most of us don’t know the first thing about.

So back to the comment that made me oh, so jealous. This is her antique find: 996916_10201583783816970_385031484_n

I personally just love love love velvet, it’s so….so….rich. Let’s look at some fun reupholstering ideas for this doll, shall we?

reupholster collage

1 // 2 // 3 // 4 // 5 // 6 // 7 // 8 // 9

Ok, so these are CLEARLY all different styles. But if you get to do something custom, I say make it what you love. Do you love crazy colors? OK. Do you love velvet? (cough cough, navy velvet is my vote) Or do you go daring and get a print? If you’re going to go for it, go for it. I want to say don’t go too crazy because then you’ll get tired of it, but I can’t. I would just suggest deviating away from trends or something that is going to dictate the style of the room. The print couch (7) up there can be put in almost any room. It’s patterned but it’s more of a “flexible” print.

And here’s just some stunning for you:

51ba907adbd0cb02e800080c._w.540_s.fit_(source)

Anyone have any pointers? Any other blog that gives some insight on reupholstering????

xoxo Stephanie

3 thoughts on “Reupholstering: Stray Thoughts, Expert Advice, and Pretty Pictures

  1. Seeing as I have already informed you that I believe velvet sofas are the meaning of life… I think you’re on the right track. Ha! I hope they picked up the sofa real cheap cause reupholstering isn’t cheap to my knowledge (never done it myself). Especially if they want to keep all that tufting, looks labor intensive! Oh and this is probably obvious but looks like they’ll want a new seat cushion.

Leave a Reply

