Pops of Green(ery)

Disclaimer: I do not know plants very well (at all really). Just like my “design style” I know what I like, it’s how things look. If it’s aesthetically pleasing to me, then I assume it works.

Just a few weeks ago I shared my ignorance of houseplants, since then I have been really paying attention and noticing pops of green in all of the fab spaces I love so much.

Mixing plants: Mixing textures and plants is a trend I’ve been really picking up on, and loving up on. I keep saying I’m going to get some succulents going, but mixing leafy, cacti, and succulents really seem to be working well. These aloe vera plants are pretty dang lovely.

mixing plants

Fiddle Leaf Fig: Ok, so if you are anything like me you’ve been noticing a “plant trend” in Elle Decor, House Beautiful, and the obvious, Pinterest. This trend is the The Ficus Lyrata or Fiddle Leaf Fig. I’m LOOOOVING it.

fiddlefig

What I love about the Fiddle Leaf Fig is you can cut the leaves and use them elsewhere in the house (I also love everything else about this space)87f2524d59582a6e5e6888dfe2fcb8ac

“Tropical”: the last of my incredibly vague plant round up would be the “tropical” plants. Areca palm (thats what I have and love) and other palms, always look great. I love the “spikiness” and burst of green. These are also great on a budget. I purchased mine for $25 from Ikea, but I saw some at the grocery store this evening for $9.99. (I’ve had it for 3 weeks now, it’s not dead, that’s saying something)

palmcollage

So I hope if this post does anything it inspires you to fill an empty space with some greenery. I bet for the rest of the day (at least) you start to notice “dayyyumm there are a lot of houseplants in these editorial shots” and then realize “dayummm I can buy these suckers at Home Depot!”Most of these pictures have the green popping against white walls, but I tried to include images with different wall colors to show that NATURAL GOES WITH ANYTHING BABY!!!!

So, so, so you like? Sound off if you know of any SPECIFIC plants that rock a room (because my lack of verbiage and using spiky this, and maybe aloe that does not cut it).

xoxo Stephanie

ALL OF THE ABOVE IMAGES CAN BE FOUND ON MY PINTEREST PAGE

“Like” Surrounded by Pretty on Facebook

Follow surrounded_by_pretty on Instagram

Follow @SBPrettyBlog on Twitter

8 thoughts on “Pops of Green(ery)

  1. Wonderful post, Stephanie! I just bought a palm tree and placed it in the bedroom – completely new look. It is like a little oasis now. Totally agree with you – natural goes with anything!

    • Thanks! I don’t know why it took me so long to notice. Probably because my mom has a ton of plants and I went back to when I had to water them all as my “chore” haha but it looks great!

      • Yes, the only disadvantage of live plants, is that you have to water them – I sometimes forget :). But the feeling they bring to the space is totally different to faux flowers, so it’s worth the effort ))

      • 100% I kinda forgot for a few days (oops) and when I went to water it yesterday the soil was still damp. Whew, hence me saying it still being alive after 3 weeks is saying something haha.

  2. fab inspiration. I am currently on the look-out for adding some plant life to my home life. I live in the city and don’t have space for a proper garden (though I would love one!). I love the incorporation of these kinds of plants!
    xo,
    nancy

Leave a Reply

