Masculinity with a Side of Whimsy

UPDATE: I just created a Surrounded by Pretty facebook page go on over and “like” it. Published posts can be shared via facebook!

So yesterday’s post about my LA lady got me digging through the pins, and through all the fabulous rooms that made me wish my house was grand or that I was going through my masculine stage when decorating my current home. I love my home, I do, but I’m a shopper, a changer, and I like to mix stuff up. My house is…. “traditional” with moments of whimsy. Kind of like how I dress. I have all staple pieces, but every once in awhile I go nuts and buy a leopard print shirt and wear it under a poppy cardigan. That is my house.

So back to masculinity, my girl and I have had differing tastes, but we both loved each other’s home. As we’ve matured, so have our tastes, and we have a lot more similaries than before. It’s good that we aren’t exactly the same because then we wouldn’t ask for advice or help, this way we get a fresh perspective. Back to pin digging, I have dug out my most favorite rooms and spaces. These remind me of the style she is going for and I wanted to see if I could pinpoint specifics or ways to recreate this style in a personal way.

So, what I see in all of these spaces are either dark or white walls, pops of color, and definitely some whimsy. I feel like it’s all very rustic/midcentury/opulent/clean. I love that these rooms are all very eclectic and that while they are all from different sources, they could be the same designer. I dunno, I just love them. It’s funny because these are the things I admire in private, I look at them over and over to try to see how I could bring the feel of these spaces into my home. But then I also feel that I could do something that is more me, and someone could walk in and say “Yes, Stephanie lives here” because none of these spaces scream me. But I loooove them, so how do we make this more “her”? That is going to be the beauty of all of this, and that is the fun in putting together a home.

xoxo Stephanie

PS: I just spent more time on citing those photos than the actual blog and inspiration board, thanks a lot grad school for making me a wreck. I’m so scared some famous designer is going to see her/his photo on my bootleg inspiration board and will sue me instead of taking me under their wing and telling their influential friends to check out surrounded by pretty – tell YOUR influential fiends to check out Surrounded by Pretty!

Leave a Reply

