Bar Harbor, Maine (squeeze)

My husband is amazing. I’m not saying this in a braggadocios way, but he really is. It’s been a hectic year for me, to say the least, and when he told me for our anniversary he wanted to surprise me and go away…well let’s just say I was so excited I almost punched him (in the most loving way possible). He gave me three options, three places that he knew we would both enjoy. Hub is an “outdoorsy” type guy and I’m and “indoorsy, spend a ton of money, and shop my face off” type girl, however we both love to eat and sip on cocktails (specifically on patios). So ANYWHO, I chose Bar Harbor, Maine. He’s been telling me how much I’d love it for years, I’ve never been to Maine so voilà, Maine it was!

I didn’t know what to expect, I packed erratically, and the weather was forecasted to be rainy all 4 days. Let’s just say I was a wreck…..until we drove down the quaintest little street filled with the cutest little shops on our right and the harbor on our left. IT-WAS-PERFECT. The first day was a complete and utter downpour and the rain was FREEZING, but the trip was still perfection. After our first day the rain was on and off and it was never overly sunny, but it really didn’t matter. I ate lobster in some form in every meal, the dinners were absolutely delicious (Havana, Fathom, Galyn’s, 2 Cats, West Street Cafe, and Jordan Pond House), the drinks were even better (Cottage Street Pub), and our hotel (The West Street Hotel) was modern, nautical, and clean. In regards to packing, well I (we) packed all wrong. I packed cute shorts and sleeveless tops. I wore my jeans and rolled up sweats (which I normally wear as jammies) more than the cute stuff. Oh well, everyone looked like they came straight off the hiking trail anyway. Which brings me to THAT, I was tricked into a hike, and I secretly kind of liked it…. shhhh, so yeah, save time for some hiking.

Ok to the point, YOU NEED TO GO RIGHT NOW! Bar Harbor was exactly how you picture Maine. It was like being in a postcard. It was both girly and manly at the same time (which works for us). All of the “locals” (I hate saying that but that’s what they called themselves) were sweet, prices were reasonable, and again, the food and drinks were fresh and deelish.

Because I know you’re dying for some snappies (Follow me on Instagram!):

This was our first day, I don't take pictures if I'm cranky and even the rain couldn't get me down.

This was our first day, I don’t take pictures if I’m cranky and even the rain couldn’t get me down.

The lobby, it's always scary to walk into a hotel for the first time. This welcomed us.

The lobby, it’s always scary to walk into a hotel for the first time. This welcomed us.

Although it was foggy it was still gorgeous, this was the harbor which we were able to enjoy from our room.

Although it was foggy it was still gorgeous, this was the harbor view which we were able to enjoy from our room.

We found it so "Maine" to see these giant evergreens on the beach. The whole place smelled like Christmas.

We found it so “Maine” to see these giant evergreens on the beach. The whole place smelled like Christmas.

Cottage Street Pub has my heart. The mixologist there was amazing and I drank more than I'd like to admit.

Cottage Street Pub has my heart. The mixologist there was amazing and I drank more than I’d like to admit.

I've never allowed myself to have a lobster roll until I went to Maine, worth the wait.

I’ve never allowed myself to have a lobster roll until I went to Maine, worth the wait.

I love me some sailboats, and this was just too picture perfect to pass up.

I love me some sailboats, and this was just too picture perfect to pass up.

This is the summer home we decided to purchase on a whim because we loved it there so much.

This is the summer home we decided to purchase on a whim because we loved it there so much.

xoxo Stephanie

One thought on “Bar Harbor, Maine (squeeze)

  1. Pingback: On a DIY Roll: Pop of Color | Surrounded By Pretty

Leave a Reply

